FACULTY SENATE Tuesday, September 20, 2016 3:30 – 5:15 pm Senate Chamber, Old Capitol

AGENDA

I. Call to Order

II. Approvals

- A. Meeting Agenda
- B. Faculty Senate Minutes (April 26, 2016)
- C. Committee Appointments (Pete Snyder, Chair, Committee on Committees)
 - Joseph Szot (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Karl Thomas (Internal Medicine) on the Faculty Council, 2016-19
 - Paul Dilley (Classics) to fill the unexpired term of Jennifer Iverson (Music) on the Faculty Senate, 2016-17
 - Steve Duck (Communication Studies) to fill the unexpired term of Claire Sponsler (English) on the Faculty Senate, 2016-17
 - Sailesh Harwani (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Karl Thomas (Internal Medicine) on the Faculty Senate, 2016-19
 - Craig Just (Civil & Environmental Engineering) to fill the unexpired term of Claire Sponsler (English) on the Campus Planning Committee, 2016-18
 - Bruce Nottingham-Spencer (German) to fill the unexpired term of Meara Habashi (Psychological & Brain Sciences) on the Council on Teaching, 2016-18
 - Elena Gavruseva (Linguistics) to fill the unexpired term of Tamara Afifi (Communication Studies) on the Financial Aid Advisory Committee, 2016-18
 - Weimin Han (Mathematics) to fill the unexpired term of Claire Sponsler (English) on the Research Council, 2016-17
 - Tracy Osborn (Political Science) to fill the unexpired term of Nicole Grosland (Biomedical Engineering) on the Presidential Committee on Athletics, 2016-20
 - Tong Li (Mathematics) to fill the unexpired term of Jon Wilcox (English) on the Honorary Degree Selection Committee, 2016-18
 - Justine Kolker (Operative Dentistry) to fill the unexpired term of Claire Sponsler (English) on the

Decision Decision

- Committee on the Selection & Review of Central Academic Officials, 2016-17
- Chris Pigge (Chemistry) to the Financial Aid Advisory Committee, 2016-19
- Mitchell Kelly (Psychological & Quantitative Foundations) to the Presidential Committee on Athletics, 2016-21
- Ann Rhodes (Nursing) to the Honorary Degree Selection Committee, 2016-19
- Ali Hasan (Philosophy) to the Judicial Commission, 2016-19
- Paul Gowder (Law) to the Judicial Commission, 2016-19

III. New Business

- A. Report on AAUP Sanction (Lois Cox, Katherine Tachau **Information** and Marian Wilson-Kimber, UI Chapter of the American Association of University Professors)
- B. Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee Update (Jon Garfinkel, Co-Chair) (deferred to future meeting)
- C. Working at Iowa Survey (Teresa Kulper, Director, Organizational Effectiveness) (deferred to future meeting)

 Information
- D. Center for Teaching Update (Jean Florman, Director) **Information** (deferred to future meeting)
- E. Office of the Ombudsperson Annual Report (Susan Johnson and Cynthia Joyce, Ombudspersons)
 (deferred to future meeting)
- F. President's Report (Tom Vaughn) (deferred to future meeting)

 Information

IV. From the Floor

V. Announcements

- The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, October 4, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.
- The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, October 18, 3:30 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.

VI. Adjournment