## FACULTY COUNCIL Tuesday, January 24, 2012 3:30 – 5:15 pm Seminar Room (2520D), University Capitol Centre

## AGENDA

## I. Call to Order

II. Approvals

A. B. C. D.	<ul> <li>Meeting Agenda</li> <li>Faculty Council Minutes (November 15, 2011)</li> <li>Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (February 14, 2012)</li> <li>Committee Replacements (Linda Snetselaar, Chair, Committee on Committees)</li> <li>Anita Jung (Art &amp; Art History) to replace Sukumar Ghosh (Computer Science) on the Council on Teaching (Spring 2012)</li> <li>Brian Gollnick (Spanish &amp; Portuguese) to replace Glenn Penny (History) on the Faculty Council (Spring and Fall 2012)</li> <li>William Davies (Linguistics) to replace Glenn Penny (History) on the Faculty Senate (Spring and Fall 2012)</li> <li>James Brown (Urology) to fill the unexpired term of Rick Axelson (Family Medicine) on the Faculty Senate (2012-14)</li> <li>Eric Epping (Psychiatry) to fill the unexpired term of Erin O'Brien (Otolaryngology) on the Faculty Senate (2012-14)</li> </ul>	Decision Decision Decision Decision
New	Business	
A.	Authorship Policy (Richard Hichwa, Senior Associate	Decision
	Vice President for Research)	
B.	Gary Barta, Athletic Director	Discussion
C.	Revised Extra Compensation for University Faculty and	Decision
	Staff Policy (Tom Rice, Associate Provost for Faculty	
	and Marge Pottorff, Coordinator, Faculty Human	
	Resources, Office of the Provost)	

IV. From the Floor

III.

- V. Announcements
  - The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, February 14, 3:30 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
  - The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 6, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2520D.
  - The call has gone out for nominations for the Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa. Please

encourage your colleagues to nominate someone. The deadline to submit nominations is Thursday, March 8.

- The online committee recruitment drive is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, January 25. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
- Online nominations for Faculty Senate elections begin on Friday, January 27 at 10 am. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
- VI. Adjournment