# FACULTY COUNCIL

## Tuesday, January 27, 2015 3:30 – 5:15 pm

# Executive Boardroom (2390), University Capitol Centre

#### **AGENDA**

#### I. Call to Order

### II. Approvals

- A. Meeting Agenda
- B. Faculty Council Minutes (November 18, 2014)
- C. Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (February 10, 2015)
- D. Committee Appointments (Christina Bohannan, Chair, Committee on Committees)
  - Alicia Gerke (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ekhard Ziegler (Pediatrics) on Faculty Senate, Spring 2015
  - Usha Mallik (Physics & Astronomy) to replace Claire Fox (English) on Faculty Council, Spring 2015
  - Ali Hasan (Philosophy) to replace Claire Fox (English) on Faculty Senate, Spring 2015
  - Peter Snyder (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ekhard Ziegler (Pediatrics) on the Faculty Policy & Compensation Committee, Spring 2015
  - Carolyn Colvin (Teaching & Learning) to fill the unexpired term of Jane Pendergast (Biostatistics) on the Committee for the Selection and Review of Central Academic Officials, 2015-16
  - Paul Hanley (Public Policy Center) to fill the unexpired term of John Beldon Scott (Art & Art History) on the Campus Planning Committee, Spring 2015
  - Ned Bowden (Chemistry) to fill the unexpired term of Morten Schlutter (Religious Studies) on the University Libraries Committee, Spring 2015
  - Scott Vogelgesang (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Rachel Williams (Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies) on the Hancher Advisory Committee, 2015-17
  - Christopher Benson (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Joseph Dillon (Internal Medicine) on the Research Council, Spring 2015
  - David Cunning (Philosophy) to fill the unexpired term of Neil Segal (Orthopaedics) on the Research Council, 2015-16

Decision Decision Decision Decision  Meara Habashi (Psychology) to the Lecturer's seat on the Council on Teaching, Spring 2015

#### III. New Business

A. Executive Session: Update on 2015-16 State Appropriations (Keith Saunders, Office of Governmental Relations)

B. Online Student Evaluations Update (Annette Beck, Director of Enterprise Instructional Technology; Maggie Jesse, Senior IT Director; Lon Moeller, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education)

C. Update on TIER Efficiency Review (Laura McLeran, Office of the President; Scott Seibert)

D. Regent President Rastetter's Challenge: How to Rise to Top Ten Status Among Public Research Universities (Christopher Morphew, Associate Dean, College of Education and Michael Sauder, Sociology)

E. Presidential Search (Alexandra Thomas)

#### Information

Information

Information

**Decision** 

**Discussion** 

#### IV. From the Floor

### V. Announcements

- The UI has received the 2015 Community Engagement Classification from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. This designation recognizes the university's efforts to focus on community engagement. (Linda Snetselaar, Associate Provost for Outreach and Engagement)
- The call has gone out for nominations for the Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa. Please encourage your colleagues to nominate someone. The deadline to submit nominations is Thursday, March 12.
- The online committee recruitment drive is scheduled to begin tomorrow, Wednesday, January 28. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
- Nominations for Faculty Senate elections are currently being sought. Last week faculty in colleges with Senate vacancies received mass emails instructing them to submit nominations to the Faculty Senate office. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
- The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, February 10, 3:30 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
- The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 3, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.

## VI. Adjournment