# FACULTY SENATE Tuesday, February 10, 2015 3:30 – 5:15 pm Senate Chamber, Old Capitol

## AGENDA

#### I. Call to Order

### II. Approvals

- A. Meeting Agenda
- B. Faculty Senate Minutes (December 2, 2014)
- C. Committee Appointments (Christina Bohannan, Chair, **Decision** Committee on Committees)
  - Alicia Gerke (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ekhard Ziegler (Pediatrics) on Faculty Senate, Spring 2015
  - Usha Mallik (Physics & Astronomy) to replace Claire Fox (English) on Faculty Council, Spring 2015
  - Ali Hasan (Philosophy) to replace Claire Fox (English) on Faculty Senate, Spring 2015
  - Peter Snyder (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ekhard Ziegler (Pediatrics) on the Faculty Policy & Compensation Committee, Spring 2015
  - Carolyn Colvin (Teaching & Learning) to fill the unexpired term of Jane Pendergast (Biostatistics) on the Committee for the Selection and Review of Central Academic Officials, 2015-16
  - Paul Hanley (Public Policy Center) to fill the unexpired term of John Beldon Scott (Art & Art History) on the Campus Planning Committee, Spring 2015
  - Ned Bowden (Chemistry) to fill the unexpired term of Morten Schlutter (Religious Studies) on the University Libraries Committee, Spring 2015
  - Scott Vogelgesang (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Rachel Williams (Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies) on the Hancher Advisory Committee, 2015-17
  - Christopher Benson (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Joseph Dillon (Internal Medicine) on the Research Council, Spring 2015
  - David Cunning (Philosophy) to fill the unexpired term of Neil Segal (Orthopaedics) on the Research Council, 2015-16
  - Meara Habashi (Psychology) to the Lecturer's seat on the Council on Teaching, Spring 2015

Decision Decision

# III. New Business

new	Business	
A.	President Sally Mason	Information
B.	Athletic Director Gary Barta	Information
C.	Update on TIER Efficiency Review (Susan Buckley,	Information
	Vice President for Human Resources; Barry Butler,	
	Provost; Steve Fleagle, Chief Information Officer;	
	Terry Johnson, Interim University Chief Financial	
	Officer & Treasurer; Rodney Lehnertz, Interim Senior	
	Vice President for Finance & Operations; Laura	
	McLeran, Office of the President; Scott Seibert,	
	Management & Organizations; Deborah Zumbach,	
	Director of Purchasing)	
D.	Working at Iowa Survey Results (Kevin Ward,	Information
	Assistant Vice President for Human Resources	
	Administration)	
E.	Community Engagement Classification from the	Information
	Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching	
	(Linda Snetselaar, Associate Provost for Outreach and	
	Engagement)	
F.	Update on Presidential Search (Alexandra Thomas)	Information

- IV. From the Floor
- V. Announcements
  - The call has gone out for nominations for the Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa. Please encourage your colleagues to nominate someone. The deadline to submit nominations is Thursday, March 12.
  - The online committee recruitment drive has begun and will conclude on Friday, March 6. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
  - The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 3, 3:30 5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.
  - The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, March 24, 3:30-5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
- VI. Adjournment