FACULTY SENATE Tuesday, September 22, 2015 3:30 - 5:15 pm Senate Chamber, Old Capitol

AGENDA

_				
T	Call	+~	Ω_{max}	~ ~
	t an	111	1 117	1 4 1

II. **Approvals**

- A. Meeting Agenda
- **Decision** B. Faculty Senate Minutes (April 28, 2015) (September 8, **Decision** 2015)
- C. Committee Appointments (Tom Vaughn, Chair, **Committee on Committees)**
 - Christopher Benson (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Kathleen Kieran (Urology) on the Faculty Council, 2015-16
 - Michael Dailey (Biology) to replace Usha Mallik (Physics & Astronomy) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - Roxanna Curto (French & Italian) to replace Jennifer Iverson (Music) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - Margaret Beck (Anthropology) to replace Frank Durham (Journalism & Mass Communication) on the Faculty Senate, Fall 2015
 - Bruce Ayati (Mathematics) to replace Mark Blumberg (Psychological and Brain Sciences) on the Faculty Senate, Fall 2015
 - Donald Macfarlane (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ned Amendola (Orthopaedics) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-17
 - John Selby (Dermatology) to fill the unexpired term of Kathleen Kieran (Urology) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - Megan Foley Nicpon (Psych & Quant Foundations) to fill the unexpired term of Nancy Langguth (Teaching and Learning) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - H.S. Udaykumar (Mechanical Engineering) to fill the unexpired term of Bruce Justman (Endodontics) on the Council on Teaching, 2015-16
 - Michael Hill (English) to fill the unexpired term of Suely Oliveira (Computer Science) on the Diversity **Committee**, 2015-17
 - Mériam Belli (History) to fill the unexpired term of Kathryn Gerken (Psychological & Quantitative Foundations) on the Diversity Committee, 2015-16

Decision

- Barbara Eckstein (English) to the Sustainability Committee, 2015-18
- Heather Sander (Geography) to the Sustainability Committee, 2015-18
- David Dowling (Journalism & Mass Communication) to the Student Publications Board. 2015-18
- Sandra Daack-Hirsch (Nursing) to the Elections Committee, 2015-18
- Edward Gillan (Chemistry) to the Rules & Bylaws Committee, 2015-18

III. New Business

A. Higher Learning Commission (HLC) Accreditation Process (Lon Moeller, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Wayne Jacobson, Director of Assessment)

B. Office of the Ombudsperson Annual Report (Susan Johnson and Cynthia Joyce, Ombudspersons)

Information

C. Executive Session: Sharing Ideas for Advancing the University

Discussion

IV. From the Floor

V. Announcements

• Vice President for Research and Economic Development Dan Reed will give a State of Research address on Monday, November 2, at 5:30 pm in the Callahan Auditorium of the College of Public Health Building. A reception will follow in the atrium.

Information

- The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, October 13, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.
- The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, October 27, 3:30 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.

VI. Adjournment