FACULTY COUNCIL Tuesday, January 23, 2018 3:30 – 5:15 pm Executive Boardroom (2390), University Capitol Centre

MINUTES

Councilors Present:	C. Benson, A. Deshpande, F. Durham, A. Durnev, M. Foley Nicpon, M. Lehan Mackin, T. Marshall, E. Prussing, G. Ryan, J. Szot, K. Tachau, C. Thomas, S. Vigmostad, E. Wasserman, D. Wurster, J. Yockey.
Officers Present:	R. Ganim, P. Snyder, T. Vaughn, R. Williams.
Councilors Excused:	None.
Councilors Absent:	R. Oral.
Guests:	J. Kolker (Operative Dentistry; AAUP Sanction Removal Committee), L. Zaper (Faculty Senate Office).

- I. Call to Order President Snyder called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm.
- **II.** Approvals
 - A. Meeting Agenda Professor Szot moved and Professor Yockey seconded that the agenda be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
 - B. Faculty Council Minutes (November 7, 2017) Professor Lehan Mackin moved and Professor Foley Nicpon seconded that the minutes be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
 - C. Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (February 13, 2018) Professor Thomas moved and Professor Deshpande seconded that the draft agenda be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
 - D. Committee Appointments (Russ Ganim, Chair, Committee on Committees)
 - Shaun Vecera (Psychological & Brain Sciences) to replace Richard Tyler Priest (History) on the Sustainability Charter Committee, Spring and Fall 2018 Professor Tachau moved and Professor Durnev seconded that the appointment be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
- III. New Business
- Executive Session AAUP Sanction Removal Committee Best Practices Draft Document (Sandra Daack-Hirsch, Chair, AAUP Sanction Removal Committee)

<u>Professor Thomas moved and Professor Wurster seconded that the Council move into closed</u> <u>session, inviting the members of the AAUP Sanction Removal Committee to join them. The</u> <u>motion carried unanimously.</u> Councilors discussed the report and proposed best practices draft documents created by the AAUP Sanction Removal Committee with Chair Daack-Hirsch and committee members.

<u>Professor Szot moved and Professor Ryan seconded that the Council move out of closed session.</u> <u>The motion carried unanimously.</u>

<u>Professor Tachau moved and Professor Marshall seconded that the Best Practices for Faculty</u> <u>Engagement in a UI Presidential Search Draft Document be approved. The motion carried</u> <u>unanimously.</u>

<u>Professor Marshall moved and Professor Lehan Mackin seconded that the Draft Report of the UI AAUP Sanction Removal Committee be approved. The motion carried unanimously.</u>

• President's Report (Pete Snyder)

President Snyder indicated that an announcement regarding the composition of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean Search Committee was expected later this week.

- IV. From the Floor There were no items from the floor.
- V. Announcements
 - The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, February 13, 3:30-5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
 - The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 6, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.

VI. Adjournment – Professor Tachau moved and Professor Yockey seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously. President Snyder adjourned the meeting at 5:15 pm.