FACULTY COUNCIL

Tuesday, September 1, 2015 6:30 – 8:00 pm

Conference Room (2520B), University Capitol Centre

MINUTES

Councilors Present: S. Ali, S. Campo, S. Daack-Hirsch, C. Fox, E. Gillan, J. Kolker, P.

Muhly, G. Ryan, S. Seibert, H. Udaykumar, J. Wilcox, J. Yockey.

Officers Present: C. Bohannan, P. Snyder, A. Thomas, T. Vaughn.

Councilors Excused: P. Brophy, M. Voigt, S. Vos.

Councilors Absent:

Guests: G. Buettner (Radiation Oncology), G. Lee (Internal Medicine), L.

Zaper (Faculty Senate Office).

I. Call to Order – President Bohannan called the meeting to order at 6:45 pm.

II. Approvals

- A. Meeting Agenda —Professor Seibert moved and Professor Wilcox seconded that the agenda be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
- B. Faculty Council Minutes (April 14, 2015) Professor Daack-Hirsch moved and Professor Gillan seconded that the minutes be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
- C. Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (September 22, 2015) —Professor Ali moved and Professor Ryan seconded that the draft agenda be approved. The motion carried unanimously.
- D. Committee Appointments (Tom Vaughn, Chair, Committee on Committees)
 - Christopher Benson (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Kathleen Kieran (Urology) on the Faculty Council, 2015-16
 - Michael Dailey (Biology) to replace Usha Mallik (Physics & Astronomy) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - Roxanna Curto (French & Italian) to replace Jennifer Iverson (Music) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - Donald Macfarlane (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Ned Amendola (Orthopaedics) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-17
 - John Selby (Dermatology) to fill the unexpired term of Kathleen Kieran (Urology) on the Faculty Senate, 2015-16
 - H.S. Udaykumar (Mechanical Engineering) to fill the unexpired term of Bruce Justman (Endodontics) on the Council on Teaching, 2015-16
 - Michael Hill (English) to fill the unexpired term of Suely Oliveira (Computer Science) on the Diversity Committee, 2015-17
 - Barbara Eckstein (English) to the Sustainability Committee, 2015-18
 - Heather Sander (Geography) to the Sustainability Committee, 2015-18

- David Dowling (Journalism & Mass Communication) to the Student Publications Board, 2015-18
- Sandra Daack-Hirsch (Nursing) to the Elections Committee, 2015-18
- Edward Gillan (Chemistry) to the Rules & Bylaws Committee, 2015-18 Professor Kolker moved and Professor Fox seconded that the appointments be approved. The motion carried unanimously.

III. New Business

• Executive Session: UI Presidential Candidates

<u>Professor Daack-Hirsch moved and Professor Kolker seconded that the Council move into closed session, inviting senators who participated in the Faculty Council meetings with the candidates to remain in the room. The motion carried unanimously.</u>

The Councilors discussed the four UI presidential candidates and the feedback they would submit to the Board of Regents.

<u>Professor Fox moved and Professor Muhly seconded that the Council move out of closed session. The motion carried unanimously.</u>

IV. From the Floor – There were no items from the floor.

V. Announcements

- Vice President for Research and Economic Development Dan Reed will give a State of Research address on Monday, November 2, at 5:30 pm in the Callahan Auditorium of the College of Public Health Building. A reception will follow in the atrium.
- The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, September 22, 3:30-5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
- The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, October 13, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2390.

VI. Adjournment – Professor Campo moved and Professor Udaykumar seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously. President Bohannan adjourned the meeting at 9:30 pm.