FACULTY SENATE Monday, April 11, 2016 6:00 – 7:30 pm S401 Pappajohn Business Building

MINUTES

Senators Present: M. Adamek, B. Ayati, S. Baker, J. Bates, C. Benson, M. Blumberg,

G. Buettner, S. Campo, D. Caplan, J. Colgan, K. Culp, S. Daack-Hirsch, M. Dailey, B. Eckstein, C. Fox, T. Gallanis, A. Gerke, E. Gillan, J. Klesney-Tait, J. Kolker, A. Kwitek, M. Lehan Mackin, T. Li, T. Mabry, D. Macfarlane, J. Murry, M. Nikolas, L. Plakans, L. Ponto, E. Prussing, P. Romitti, G. Ryan, D. Segaloff, S. Seibert, C. Sponsler, L. Storrs, K. Tachau, C. Thomas, H. Udaykumar, S. Vigmostad, M. Voigt, J. Wang, J. Welburn, J. Wilcox, D. Wilder, P.

Windschitl. D. Wurster.

Officers Present: C. Bohannan, P. Snyder, A. Thomas, T. Vaughn.

Senators Excused: P. Brophy, A. Merino, K. Messingham, J. Selby, S. Vos.

Guests: B. Butler (Provost), M. Durham (College of Liberal Arts and

Sciences), B. Harreld (President), T. Johnson (Office of the Vice

President for Finance and Operations), J. Keller (Graduate

College), K. Kregel (Office of the Provost), R. Lehnertz (Office of the Vice President for Finance and Operations), D. Reed (Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development), L. Weber (College of Engineering), L. Zaper (Faculty Senate Office).

I. Call to Order – President Bohannan called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

II. New Business

• Executive Session: Moving the University Forward

<u>Professor Thomas moved and Professor Tachau seconded that the Senate move into closed session, inviting the administrators, along with Professors Durham and Weber, to remain in the room. The motion carried unanimously.</u>

The Senators engaged in discussion with administrators regarding ideas for moving the university forward.

<u>Professor Tachau moved and Professor Daack-Hirsch seconded that the Senate move out of closed session. The motion carried unanimously.</u>

III. Adjournment – Professor Storrs moved and Professor Gillan seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously. President Bohannan adjourned the meeting at 7:30 pm.