FACULTY SENATE Tuesday, September 17, 2024 3:30 – 5:15 pm Senate Chamber, Old Capitol

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approvals
 - A. Meeting Agenda

B. Faculty Senate Minutes (April 30, 2024)

(April 30, 2024)Decisionts (Rodica Curtu, Chair,DecisionDecisionDecision

Decision

- C. Committee Appointments (Rodica Curtu, Chair, Committee on Committees)
 - Please see attached list
- III. New Business
 - A. Understanding Academic Freedom and Free Speech (Ann Byrd, Deputy General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel and Joe Yockey, Associate Dean for Research and Professional Development, College of Law)
 - B. Presentation of 2024 Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa (Ed Gillan) and Remembrance of Professor Usha Mallik, 2020 Brody Award Recipient (Caroline Sheerin)
 - C. Dissolution of University Safety and Security Charter Committee (Caroline Sheerin) Decision
 - D. President's Report (Caroline Sheerin)
- IV. From the Floor
- V. Announcements
 - The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, October 8, 3:30-5:15 pm, Executive Boardroom (2390), University Capitol Centre.
 - The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, October 29, 3:30 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
- VI. Adjournment