[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, February 19, 2008
3:30 – 5:15 pm
Penn State Room (337 IMU)


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Council Minutes (January 22, 2008)  
    3. Senate Replacements – (Michael O’Hara)
      • Katherine Porter (Law) to replace Jim Tomkovicz (Law) on the Senate and Council, spring 2008.
      • Tung Yin (Law) to replace Jonathan Carlson (Law) on the Senate, spring 2008.
      • Richard Smith, Otolaryngology, to replace Rita Frantz, Nursing, on the Honorary Degree Selection Committee.
      • Katherine Tachau, History, to replace Sanford Markham, OB/GYN, on the Committee on Rules and Bylaws.

  3. Update on Provost Search (Michael O’Hara)
  4. New Business
    1. Update from the Faculty Athletics Representative to the Big 10 Conference and the NCAA (Elizabeth Altmaier, Psychological and Quantitative Foundations)
    2. Promoting a More Sustainable Campus (Jim Throgmorton, Urban and Regional Planning)
    3. Cancellation of Classes (Lola Lopes, Interim Provost)

  5. Announcements
    1. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 4, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Penn State Room, 337 IMU
    2. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, March 25, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol
    3. Nominations sought for Michael J. Brody award (see Faculty Senate website: http://www.uiowa.edu/~facsen/MJBA.htm ), Deadline:  Monday, February 25
    4. Charter and Non-Charter Committee Recruitment, deadline for submission of Statements of Interest in Committee Appointments:  Wednesday, February 27
    5. Faculty Senate Election begins Friday, February 29, at 8:00 am
    6. Faculty volunteers sought for IPTV annual fundraising event (Saturday, March 8, 12:00 – 5:30, Johnston IA)
    7. The Faculty Senate Symposium will be held in April.

  6. Adjournment