[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, October 7, 2008
3:30 – 5:15 pm
W401 Pappajohn Business Building


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Council Minutes (August 20, 2008; August 26, 2008)  (Attachment 1) (Attachment 2)
    3. Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (October 21, 2008)
    4. Committee Replacements (David Drake)
      • Dwight Look (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Brian Schutte (Pediatrics) on the Senate, 2008-10
      • Jill Beckman (Linguistics) to replace Jeff Cox (History) on the Senate, Fall 2008
      • One new appointee to the Faculty Judicial Commission:  John Wadsworth (Rehabilitation Counseling)
      • Michael Eckert (Music) to fill the unexpired term of Mary Trachsel (Rhetoric) on the Council on Teaching, 2008-09
      • Larissa Samuelson (Psychology) to fill the unexpired term of Carolyn Brown (Communication Sciences & Disorders) on the Family Issues Charter Committee, 2008-10.
      • Patricia Clinton (Nursing) to replace Astrid Oesmann (German) on the Human Rights Charter Committee, Fall 2008
      • Keela Herr (Nursing) to replace Gina Schatteman (Integrative Physiology) on the Governmental Relations Committee, 2008-09
  3. New Business
    1. Proposed Revision to Chapter 15 Professional Ethics and Academic Responsibility, Section 15.4 Responsibilities to Colleagues (Lynn Richman, Chair, Faculty Policies and Compensation Committee)
    2. Updates to Honorary Degree policies (Catherine Ringen, Chair, Awards and Recognition Committee)
    3. Office of the Ombudsperson annual report (Lois Cox, Cynthia Joyce)

  4. From the Floor
  5. Announcements
    1. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, October 21, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
    2. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, November 18, 3:30-5:15 pm, Penn State Room, 337 IMU.
  6. Adjournment