[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, August 31, 2010
3:30 – 5:15 pm
Commons Room (302), Schaeffer Hall


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Council Minutes (April 13, 2010)   (Attachment 1)
    3. Draft Faculty Senate Agenda (September 14, 2010)
    4. Committee Replacements (Richard Fumerton, Chair, Committee on Committees)
      • Ken Mobily (Integrative Physiology) to fill a vacancy on the Council on Teaching, 2010-13
      • Kevin Mumford (History) to fill a vacancy on the Conflict of Interest in Employment Committee, 2010-13
      • Ed Wasserman (Psychology) to replace Dee Morris (English) on the Faculty Council for the Fall 2010 semester
      • Katherine Wolfe (Music) to replace Dee Morris (English) on the Faculty Senate for the Fall 2010 semester
      • Matthew Hill (Anthropology) to fill the unexpired term of Michael Sauder (Sociology) on the Faculty Senate, 2010-12
  3. New Business
    1. Report on Faculty Council/Administration Retreat (Ed Dove)
    2. Coalition on Intercollegiate Athletics (COIA) Annual Report (Jean Jew, Professor Emeritus, Anatomy & Cell Biology)
    3. Employee Payroll Deduction (Cynthia Bartels, Director, Treasury and Laurie Lentz, Treasury Operations)
    4. Sexual Harassment Policy Revision (Jonathan Carlson, Office of the President)
    5. Faculty Scholar and Global Scholar Awards (Jeff Cox)
    6. UI Draft Strategic Plan

  4. From the Floor
  5. Announcements
    1. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, September 14, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
    2. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, October 5, 3:30-5:15 pm, University Capitol Centre 2520D.

  6. Adjournment