[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, February 17, 2009
3:30 – 5:15 pm
Senate Chamber, Old Capitol


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Senate Minutes (December 2, 2008)  (Attachment 1)
    3. Committee Replacements (Mike O’Hara)
      • Alan MacVey (Theatre Arts) to replace Jonathan Wilcox (English) on the Faculty Senate for the spring 2009 semester
      • Carin Green (Classics) to fill the unexpired term of Douglas Baynton (History) on the Research Council, 2008-11
    4. Jean Jew (Anatomy & Cell Biology), new COIA representative (Mike O’Hara)

  3. New Business
    1. Conflict Management Website (Cynthia Joyce, Ombudsperson)  http://www.uiowa.edu/~confmgmt/
    2. Parental Leave Proposal (Martha Greer, President, Staff Council; Lynn Richman, Chair, Faculty Policies and Compensation Committee)
  4. From the Floor
  5. Announcements
    1. Alternative Spring Break (Kathy Klein, Past President, Staff Council)
    2. Legislative Forum, jointly sponsored by the Faculty Senate Governmental Relations Committee, the AAUP, and the League of Women Voters of Johnson County will take place on Saturday, February 28, 9:30-11:30 am, Emma Harvat Hall at the Iowa City City Hall.
    3. Faculty Senate elections will begin Friday, March 6. Please encourage your colleagues to participate.
    4. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, March 10, 3:30-5:15 pm, Penn State Room, 337 IMU.
    5. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, March 24, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
  6. Senators and Guests:  Please be sure to sign the attendance sheet on your way out, if you have not already done so.

  7. Executive Session

  8. Adjournment