[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, March 25, 2008
3:30 – 5:15 pm
Senate Chamber (Old Capitol)


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Senate Minutes (February 5, 2008)   (Attachment 1)
    3. Senate Replacements – (Michael O’Hara)
      • Richard Smith, Otolaryngology, to replace Rita Frantz, Nursing, on the Honorary Degree Selection Committee
      • Katherine Tachau, History, to replace Sanford Markham, OB/GYN, on the Committee on Rules and Bylaws.
  3. Update on Provost Search (Michael O’Hara)
  4. David Miles, Board of Regents
  5. New Business
    1. Consensual Relationships Policy (Judie Hermsen, Human Resources)
    2. Proposed changes to the Ops Manual for DEO and Program Director Reviews (Michael O’Hara) 
    3. Revision to the Operations Manual policy regarding clinical faculty as PI on grants (Lynn Richman)
    4. University SSN plan update (Jane Drews, Information Technology Security Officer)
    5. UIHC CEO Search Committee (Mary Greer, Health Care Information Systems and Stacey Cyphert, Health Science Governmental Relations)
    6. Promoting a More Sustainable Campus (Jim Throgmorton, Urban and Regional Planning)
  6. Gary Barta, Athletic Director
  7. Announcements
    1. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, April 1, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Commons Room, 302 Schaeffer Hall.
    2. President’s Reception for Faculty Senate, Wednesday, April 2, 5:00 – 6:30 pm, 102 Church Street
    3. Faculty Senate Symposium on benefits, Tuesday, April 8, 3:30-5:30, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
    4. AAUP-Faculty Senate Tenure Workshop, Tuesday, April 8, 6:30-9:00 pm, Galagan Auditorium, Dental Science Building.  Please encourage junior faculty members to attend.
    5. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, April 22, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol. Election of officers will take place.
  8. Adjournment