[download as PDF]

University of Iowa

Tuesday, October 20, 2009
3:30 – 5:15 pm
Senate Chamber, Old Capitol


  1. Call to Order 
  2. Approvals
    1. Meeting Agenda
    2. Faculty Senate Minutes (September 8, 2009)    (Attachment 1)
    3. Committee Replacements (Edwin Dove, Chair, Committee on Committees)
      • Michele Fang (Internal Medicine) to fill the unexpired term of Sara Copeland (Pediatrics) on the Senate, 2009-12
      • Yasser Karim (Anesthesia) to replace Lucie Laurian (Urban & Regional Planning) on the Faculty Staff Parking Appeals Committee, 2009-11

  3. New Business
    1. Office of the Ombudsperson Annual Report (Cynthia Joyce and Lois Cox, Ombudspersons)
    2. Funded Retirement and Insurance Committee Update (Sheldon Kurtz, Faculty Co-Chair, FRIC)
    3. University Budget Update (Doug True, Senior Vice President and Treasurer)

  4. From the Floor

  5. Announcements
    1. The next Faculty Council meeting will be Tuesday, November 17, 3:30 – 5:15 pm, Penn State Room (337), IMU.
    2. The next Faculty Senate meeting will be Tuesday, December 1, 3:30-5:15 pm, Senate Chamber, Old Capitol.
    3. The annual Faculty Senate/Iowa City Area Chamber of Commerce reception for area legislators will take place on Thursday, December 3, 4:30-6:00 pm. 
  6. Adjournment