University of Iowa
Tuesday, February 7, 2006
3:30 – 5:15 p.m.
Tippie Auditorium, W151 PBB

Members Present: David Asprey, Daniel Balderston, Jill Beckman, Susan Birrell, Linda Boyle, Gloria Bulechek, Jay Christensen-Szalanski, Steve Collins, Jane Desmond, Virginia Dominguez, Edwin Dove, David Drake, Claibourne Dungy, Sarah Fagan, Richard Fumerton, Robert Garrett, Jennifer Glass, Frederick Goodman, Thomas Grabowski, Kathleen Hanson, Judith Heggen, Ronald Herman, Geoffrey Hope, Bruce Justman, Thomas Loew, Donald MacFarlane, Mazen Maktabi, Rene Martin, Steve McGuire, Frank Mitros, Jose Morcuende, Christine Pawley, Beth Pelton, Todd Pettys, Amy Poremba, Lynn Richman, Catherine Ringen, Thomas Schmidt, Victoria Sharp, Linda Snetselaar, Janet Specht, Anne Sullivan, John Sutphin, Downing Thomas, Geb Thomas, Brad Thompson, Tuong Ton-That, Steve Vincent, Walter Vispoel, John Westefeld,

Members Absent: Christine Catney, William Clarke, Denise Filios, Vicki Grassian, Mark Karwal, Craig Kletzing, Johna Leddy, Lance Lichtor, James Nepola, Thomas O’Dorisio, Gary Russell, Jarjisu Sa-Aadu, William Sharp, Christie Thomas, Marcia Ward, Catherine Woodman

Members Excused: Kenneth Brown, Garry Buettner, Carin Green, Paul Heidger, Yi Li, Michael O’Hara, Karin Southard

Faculty Senate Officers in Attendance: Richard LeBlond, President; Michael Cohen, Secretary; Katherine Tachau, Past President

Faculty Senate Officers Excused: Sheldon Kurtz, Vice President

Guests: Thomas Charlton (UI Libraries), Sam Edsill (The Daily Iowan), Gregg Hennigan (Press-Citizen), Jennifer Modestou (EOD), George Lance (Emeritus Council), Tom Rocklin (Office of the Provost), Susan Johnson (Office of the Provost), Charles Drum (University Relations), Julie Thatcher (Faculty Senate Office)

I.  Call to Order: Faculty Senate Executive Session

President LeBlond called the meeting to order at 3:36 pm.

II.  Approvals

Professor Kurtz made a motion to meet in executive session and to include Mark Kresowik, Michelle Wichman, and Mary Greer; Professor Dungy seconded the motion.  It was unanimously approved by voice vote.

   A.   Meeting Agenda

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Professor Herman, and seconded by Professor Dungy.  It was unanimously approved by voice vote.

   B.    Faculty Senate Minutes, November 29, 2005

Professors Collins and Dungy offered some suggested changes and corrections to the Minutes, which were accepted.  A motion to approve the Minutes was made by Professor Loew, and seconded by Professor Ringen.  It was unanimously approved by voice vote.

   C.   Faculty Senate Minutes, January 30, 2006

A motion to approve the Minutes was made by Professor Loew, and seconded by Professor Glass.  It was unanimously approved by voice vote.

   D.   Committee on Committees, Sheldon Kurtz

  • Diversity Committee: David Manderscheid (Mathematics) will replace Salome Raheim (2006-2008)
  • Faculty Policies& Compensation: Victoria Sharp (Urology) will replace Bernard Fallon (2006)
  • Presidential Committee on Athletics: Steve McGuire (Curriculum & Instruction) will replace Judy Polumbaum (2006)

A motion to approve the appointments was made by Professor Kurtz, and seconded by Professor Tachau.  It was unanimously approved by voice vote.

President LeBlond requested a faculty volunteer for the Photo ID Task Force.  Professor Christensen-Szalanski volunteered.

   E.   Faculty Senate Elections, Katherine Tachau

Professor Tachau referred to the attachment and then described the election process, and solicited help for nominations.

III.  Faculty Senate Discussion on Proceeding with the Board of Regents

The Faculty Senate then discussed in executive session the Board of Regents’ apparent plan to recruit a new University President.                      

IV.  Executive Session of the Faculty Council           

This did not occur as the Senate met as a whole for the entire time period.           

V.  Announcements

  1. IPTV, Saturday, March 4, 12:30-6:30, Des Moines.  President LeBlond specifically pointed out this opportunity for faculty.
  2. Faculty Senate, March 7, Tippie Auditorium, W151 PBB
  3. Faculty Senate Elections Nominations, February 10-18
  4. Michael J. Brody Award Nominations due February 27
  5. Committee Volunteer Recruitment Forms due February 28
  6. Legislative Receptions, 4th Saturday of each month.

VI.  Adjournment

President LeBlond adjourned the meeting to order at 5:21 pm.