[download as PDF]

University of Iowa
Tuesday, March 23, 2004
3:30 p.m.
Lucas-Dodge Room, #256 IMU


  1. Call to Order
  2. Approval: Faculty Senate Minutes, February 10, 2004 (Attachment 1)
  3. Reports
    1. Board of Regents President, Owen Newlin
    2. Faculty Senate President, Margaret Raymond
  4. New Business
    1. Decanal Review, Dave Baldus and Ekhard Ziegler (Attachment 2) 

      Motion: The Faculty Council endorses the report as modified and forwards to the Senate for consideration.
    2. Salary Incentive Plans, Margaret Raymond; Policy (Attachment 3a), AAUP Response (Attachment 3b), Science Article (Attachment 3c)

      Motion: The Faculty Council endorses the AAUP recommendations that the Faculty Senate place a moratorium on the expansion of existing bonus plans or the adoption of new plans by the administration;

      the Faculty Senate appoint a committee to assess the propriety of bonus programs for the University of Iowa in general and to recommend guidelines for such programs if the administration should introduce them;

      the Faculty Senate charge its Faculty Welfare Committee or some other committee appointed for this purpose, to conduct an independent evaluation of the success of the COM pilot program, with full access to the information in the medical school that is required to assess fully both the benefits and drawbacks of the program.
  5. Announcements
    1. Promotion & Tenure Symposium: March 31, 2003, 6:30-9:00, 2217 SC
    2. Faculty Senate: April 27, 2004, Lucas Dodge Room, 256 IMU
  6. From the Floor
  7. Adjournment